Organisational, Planners, Productivity

Home Binder System: An Alternative to the 43 Folder Binder

image

Last week I watched a YouTube video by Miss TrenchCoat (aka Alexis from Strange and Charmed). It was all about  the 43 Folder Binder System. The video can be seen here.

The basic concept is to have 43 folders in your binder, 12 are monthly and 31 are for each day of the month. The folders are for you to slot reminders, Bills, invitations etc in that you get so you know what’s upcoming and when. A complete running folder with 12 months future planning.

I loved the idea of this system especially for all my house stuff such as bill dates, budget, cleaning,  birthdays and whatever else pops up throughout the year.

One thing that did become apparent when I was considering my set up was that my life simply is not busy enough for all 31 days of the months folders.
Knowing this I have adapted the method to suit my needs.

Instead if 31 daily folders I have 5 weekly dividers dated 1st – 7th, 8th – 14th, 15th – 21st, 22nd – 28th and 29th – 31st. On these I will use sticky notes to put any info relevant to that week.

image

I also have one folder per month where I can pop any paperwork for that month.

I have also included a few other things in my system.
My contents are:
1) Account Numbers

image

2) Budget Info

image

3) Contacts
4) Inbox (where I pop things when I don’t have time to sort it)

image

5) Cleaning Schedule

image

6) Monthly Calender

image

7) Monthly Events Card

image

8) Monthly Folder

image

9) 5 Weekly Dividers

image

The binder then repeats itself from 6-9.
I am really hoping this helps to keep track of everything that is going on in a more functional and practical way. I often will note things in my planner and then cannot find the associated paperwork and I don’t make notes in my planner regarding bills and payments either.

I also have a plastic zipper wallet in to keep my sticky notes in a safe place.

image

For anyone who would like to see the 43 Folder System then please pop along to the lovely Michelle at Uglybugdoes on YouTube to see how she set up her binder.
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=pcdfNvuTqco

Thanks for reading

The Stationery Geekette x

6 thoughts on “Home Binder System: An Alternative to the 43 Folder Binder”

  1. I watch that video and loved it some much that I started doing the 43 folder system. Unfortunately at the time it didn’t work for me but I’m in the process of setting it up again.

    Like

Leave a comment